• University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., magna cum laude, 1980)
  • University of Minnesota (B.A., 1975)

Bar and Court Admissions

  • Minnesota
  • Minnesota Supreme Court
  • United States Supreme  Court
  • U.S. Courts of Appeals, Fifth, Seventh, Eights and Ninth Circuits
  • United States District Courts in Minnesota and throughout the United States


  • Federal Bar Association, Member
  • Federal Circuit Bar Association, Member
  • American Bar Association, Member
  • Minnesota State Bar Association, Member
  • American Intellectual Property Law Association, Member

Additional Training

  • AAA Commercial Arbitrator Training II, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • AAA Commercial Arbitrator Training Workshop, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • CLE Certified Mediation Skills Training, St. Paul, Minnesota
  • CLE Certified ADR Training, St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Myriad CLE programs as teacher and student in the areas of mediation, arbitration and other ADR processes.

Awards & Recognition

  • Fellow, American College of Commercial Arbitrators (2018)
  • Best Lawyers in America, Minneapolis Mediation, “Lawyer of the Year” (2018)
  • Named a leading technology neutral by Silicon Valley Arbitration and Mediation Center (2017)  For more information, please visit:
  • Best Lawyers in America, Minneapolis Arbitration, “Lawyer of the Year” (2016)
  • Best Lawyers in America (2007–2017)
  • Chambers USA:  America’s Leading Lawyers for Business, Intellectual Property Litigation, Minnesota (2015 – 2017)
  • Minnesota Super Lawyers (2002–2017)
  • United States District Court for the District of Minnesota Distinguished Pro Bono Service Award (2010)

Sample Publications and Presentations

  • Arbitrating Patent Disputes: A Practical Guide (ABA Publications 2017)(available at
  • A Dozen Tips for Technology-Related Mediations and Arbitrations, Landslide Magazine (ABA IP Section, November/December 2018)
  • “Preparing for Mediation in the Patent or Technology Case,” Co-author, Just Resolutions E-News (May 2017)
  • “Using Arbitration to Resolve Patent Disputes: The Right Thing for the Right Case,” Federal Lawyer (October 2016)
  • “Warranties, Remedies, and Related Peccadilloes,” ACC Docket (May 2011)
  • “ADR in Patent Cases,” Minnesota CLE (2016)
  • “Top IP Issues in Contracts,” National Webcast Presentations (2016)
  • “How to Handle the Tricky Stuff: Difficult Questions Arbitrators Face,” Minnesota CLE (2016)
  • “Innovative Techniques in Arbitration,” Minnesota CLE (2016)
  • See Blogs on this site

Community Involvement

  • Hennepin County District Court, Volunteer Mediator (2010 – 2017)
  • Dakota County Conciliation Court, Volunteer Judge (2011 – 2017)
  • United States District Court for the District of Minnesota, Counsel on Pro Se Project (2009, 2014)